Read all about it…. It’s not you, it’s me….

So the phony war is over, the secret almost out. I met with work yesterday and had a two hour meeting where I stated my views and finally I tendered my resignation. They seemed surprised that I could want to leave and in the end I was surprised that at one point I considered staying.

In the end I toed the line of “it’s not you, it’s me. I am not the right person to fit what you wish to achieve because working here doesn’t make me happy” and that was that. I now have what looks like 2 months gardening leave. So I have had a little lie in, kissed the wife goodbye as she set off for work and will go for a run shortly.

They asked that I not make it public in my industry (I take a liberty here but I haven’t noticed my blog being the talk of our squalid bunch of semiprofessionals that fill my industry….) For a week or so until they decide what they’ll send out as a formal notice.

So I feel a massive sense of release, tinged with sadness and failure. Very much like breaking up, again. It’s not you, it’s me, again.

Ah well, some time to recoup and recharge, I have felt worn out lately. It’s been nice though because in a situation where I would have talked to my mum (who was an HR director and would help in any work issue) I was able to hear her voice in my head telling me just to be calm and remember I just want to be fair and get the best result for me. I think I have done that, mortgage still needs to be sorted but it looks like that can be done so big whoop.

So there’s a new door open, the country at last in a couple of months, a chance to breathe.

Time for a run found the common, I’ve earnt it.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Family, Ideas, Joy, London, Mum, Work, Work/Life balance

Leave a comment